Cruiser’s camping trip

Taking a break from book reviews, Cruiser enjoys a camping trip.

Hello everyone – I took a break from my regular book review last week because mom and I were out on a camping trip.  This is all part of the ‘be more dog’ initiative that mom is trying to follow, with my guidance of course. 

Well, we were in the area of Joshua Tree National Park for about a week.  Mom actually played in a softball tournament during the weekend of our stay, but the few days before and after the tournament were ours to spend together, for the most part.

I’ve been to a few National Parks already and one thing about those places is that they typically do not permit dogs on the trails.  How rude!  I can walk in some of the areas around the parking lots, and maybe a few of the paved trails, but I can’t go on most of the trails.  That really puts a damper on our time together because mom and I like to hike together. 

Wow, I would have loved to pee on all these trees, but unfortunately, I could not venture too far.

Mom and I traveled into Joshua Tree National Park a few times but when mom wanted to walk around for a little while, I had to stay in the truck.  That’s OK with me because mom has set up the back seat of the truck just for me.  I have a bed, a water bowl, shade, and a blankie in case it gets too cold.  Mom is always very careful about the temperature.  She knows that I can’t stay in the truck if it is too hot outside.  The weather was really cool in January and I was very comfortable.

My setup in the truck.

We made the best of it and I got to see some of Joshua Tree National Park.  There was a really nice Park Ranger who took our photo in front of the main sign.  That’s one of the things we do at each park we visit.  Mom is recording all the place we’ve visited together, even if I can’t get to see much of each park.

Me and mom.

Mom and I hung out at the camper too.  I like my cozy bed in the camper and mom is sure to pack my favorite woobies.  So, I have Lamb Chop, my stuffed fren Sebastian, my hedgehog, and my doggie.  Those woobies along with my blankies makes me feel right at home.  We get our evening couch time in and mom snuggles with me before we go to sleep.

My nice comfy bed with all my woobies.

In the camper mom sleeps in her own bed, and I stay on my bed.  It’s not the best arrangement but I understand that mom’s bed is just not that big and it would be too difficult for me to jump up and down in such a confined area.  I don’t mind because mom makes sure I’m all tucked in before she goes to bed and if she gets up during the night, she always checks on me.  She loves me lots.

Tucked in for the night.

There were a few days when mom left me in the camper and drove into Joshua Tree National Park to take some photos.  She wasn’t gone too long and when she got back each time we went on a nice long walk.  There was even a dog park in the campground where I could run around and play.  Then mom took me to another dog park where there were other dogs who live in the area.  That was fun.  I got to play with a few of the dogs and one of the dads threw a ball for me to chase.

All-in-all it was a nice trip, but I always like coming home and getting back into our regular routine.  Traveling with mom is fun and I get to see and smell all different things, but what I enjoy most is spending time with mom, wherever we may be.

Leave a comment