My Cat Brother – Dante

Hi everyone – Bear here again.  It’s been a while since I last wrote, but things have been a little hectic lately.

I finished my final scheduled IV chemo treatment on May 2.  The few days afterward were a little rough.  Mom had to stay with me to help me get through them.  Unfortunately, that meant she missed her most favorite trip, Special Olympics State Competition.  I felt bad that she decided to stay home, but I’m glad she did.  I do so much better when mom is with me.  She got updates throughout the weekend about Bradshaw Mountain Special Olympics and how they were doing.  Apparently, they did very well, most of them having their best scores (time and distance) in their events.  Josh and Ryan, mom’s pentathletes, beat their scores as well.  She was very happy for them, but I know she missed seeing it first hand, and taking photos of all the activity.

I had a 2-week wash out period before I could begin my low-dose chemo pills.  Those started on May 16th, and so far I’m doing OK.  I’m still a little fussy about what I like to eat; things just don’t smell that good to me yet.  Mom has an infinite amount of patience with me and sits on the floor trying to get me to eat.  Sometimes it takes 4, 5, or 6 tries of me sniffing at the food she offers.  Most times I end up finally eating, and it tastes really good.  Mom is still cooking my meals and giving me a variety of protein and carbohydrates.  There is love in her cooking.

This past Sunday we had some trouble, this time with Dante my cat brother.  That’s him in the photo.  Dante has renal issues, that’s kidney problems, and was diagnosed last year with lowered kidney function.  Well, his kidneys must be getting worse.  This past Saturday, mom and dad couldn’t find Dante in the house.  They were calling and searching for a while and I was getting worried.  They finally found him, tucked in mom’s closet, on top of her shoe boxes.  Mom brought him out and sat with him in the living room, brushing his orange coat.  He was purring loudly, I could hear him across the room.

On Sunday he ended up hiding again, this time under mom’s printer table near the computer.  When mom reached under to get him she said he was wet.  Poor Dante had actually peed on himself.  I felt really bad for him as I know that’s not good and he must have felt terrible not being able to make it to his litter box.

Mom grabbed the cat carrier, put Dante in it, and then called the Emergency Vet Office.  Luckily we have an ER Vet in the area.  When she put Dante in the carrier, I knew something was wrong and I got really anxious.  I was pacing around and sniffing at the carrier.  I tried to tell Dante that mom would take good care of him and that he should try to relax, but he was meowing a bit.  That made me a little upset as well.

Mom took off for the ER Vet and left me home.  She said she’d be right back and that dad would be home soon.  Sure enough, dad got home a little while later and together we waited for mom and Dante.  Well, when mom got home, she didn’t have Dante with her and I was a little confused.  I was wondering where he was and when he would be home.

Mom sat down with me and told me that Dante was very sick and had to stay in the hospital overnight.  He need constant care and some medical attention.  She said he would get the best care possible and I know she was telling me the truth because, well, look at me and the care I’ve received.  Then she started talking about that bridge again, and that there was a possibility that it may be time for Dante to cross that bridge, without us.  She was crying as she was telling me this and I tried to comfort her.  I stuck close by her side for the rest of the night.  We were together until about midnight when I went out for another pee-break and she finally went to bed.

Mom called the ER Vet Monday morning for an update and told me that Dante was resting, that he was not in any pain, but we wouldn’t know much more than that until they did some blood tests later in the day.  Mom’s crying a little today as we talk about it, but she’s holding up pretty well.  I’m going to stick close today as well.  I ate all my breakfast, and then all my mid-morning snack.  She feels better when I eat, so I’m doing my best to help her through this.

I guess we wait now.  I hope Dante is doing OK and that he realizes that mom is thinking about him and making sure he gets whatever he needs at his point in his life.  I hope he doesn’t have to cross the bridge, I like hanging out with him and cleaning his ears.  I trust mom to make the right decisions.  Her decisions are always made out of love.

7 thoughts on “My Cat Brother – Dante”

  1. Bear, Laura, Robert..
    Wanted to write to each of you this time. What you have been going through with your fur babies has been incredibly hard I know. I can’t think of a better mom and dad then you! It’s nice that you have the time to spend with them.
    Very tough decisions, but, yes, made from a loving place.
    Hang in there & LOVE each other as much as possible!!

    Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bear, Laura, Robert..
    Wanted to write to each of you this time. What you have been going through with your fur babies has been incredibly hard I know. I can’t think of a better mom and dad then you! It’s nice that you have the time to spend with them.
    Very tough decisions, but, yes, made from a loving place.
    Hang in there & LOVE each other as much as possible!!

    Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

