Pooh Bear

I mentioned in a previous post that mom calls me her Pooh Bear.

My mom likes Winnie the Pooh.  I know she’s all grown up, and my mom, and that Winnie the Pooh is sort of a children’s character, but she said Winnie the Pooh has a lot of redeeming qualities and quite a bit of wisdom for a bear.

So, I’m going to use a few of mom’s favorite quotes from Winnie the Pooh as I talk about us.

“Sometimes the smallest things take up the most room in your heart.”

Mom has a big heart, she has to because of all the fur-babies that have passed through her heart over the years.  I’m one of many who have shared a space in mom’s (and dad’s) heart.  I remember my dog brothers, Taz and Joey, they both crossed the rainbow bridge already.  I also remember my cat brother, Othello, who crossed the bridge last year in April.  Mom tells me about all the fur babies I never got to meet and talks about how much fun they were and how much she loved them.  She always reminds me that she loves me too, and that I will always be in her heart.  I like that.

“How do you spell love” asked piglet.  “You don’t spell it, you feel it.” replied Pooh.

At night when I climb on the couch and lie on mom’s lap, I feel her love for me.  I feel it in the way she slowly and gently strokes my fur, around my eyes and my ears, and down my neck.  I hear it as she whispers in my ear that she loves her Pooh Bear.  I feel it when she sits next to me on the floor and I roll up against her leg, or when we wrestle and rough-house with one of my blankets.

I hope she feels my love as well, in my quiet, rhythmic breathing, the heaviness of my head on her lap as I fall asleep, safe and comfortable.  I try to look at her with love in my eyes, and I hope she recognizes it.  I think she does because she squats down, takes my head in her hands, looks into my eyes and tells me she loves me.  I like that.

“If there is ever a tomorrow that we are not together, there is one thing you should always remember.  You are braver that you believe, stronger that you seem, and smarter than you think.  But the most important thing is: even if we’re apart, I will always be with you in the heart.”

During these moments with my mom I try my best to hold them deep in my heart.  I am doing my best to store them in my memory; I hope she is doing the same, I think she is.

Because, I know, one day we will have to part.  She will stay and I will continue on to a bridge, crossing over.  And, all I will have are these memories and like Pooh, I will keep her in my heart as I’m sure she will keep me in hers.

But for now, we are still together, and I do my best, every day, to tell her that I love her, just as she tells me every day.  I like that.

“How lucky I am to have something that makes saying goodbye so hard.”

2 thoughts on “Pooh Bear”

  1. Oh Bear, you are wise beyond your fur! Sometimes it’s important to stop and reflect on what we have! As the Great Pooh Bear says, you don’t spell it, you feel it! Sounds like you and Mom are in sinc on that one!! Keep loving and storing those feelings!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

