Cardiologist Visit – Ultrasound

Well, I had my cardiologist appointment today.  They did an ultrasound of my heart to see how well it is working, how strong it is, whether there is any fluid buildup in the pericardium, and whether there are any growths/tumors present.

I passed with flying colors!  My mom was really happy with the news.  So was I.  The cardiologist said my heart is strong and working just fine.  There is no fluid buildup and he could detect no mass anywhere in my heart muscle.

YIPPEE!

It was really great to finally get some good news.  Of course, I still have cancer, but now it is most likely isolated in my abdomen.  Still not good, but I am taking my chemo pills every day and we hope that will slow down the growth and spread of the cancer cells.  If you remember from a previous post, I told you that my liver tested negative for cancer, so that’s good.

While I was getting my ultrasound today, mom walked over to the oncology office to check on the blood results.  Remember, we’re waiting to see if I have the MDR blood markers or not.  They told mom that the results were not back yet.  So, I guess we still have to wait a few days to hear about those results.

As promised, mom stopped for ice cream on the way home.  I got a quick pee break then a scoop of vanilla ice cream from Baskin Robbins!  Our friend Sarah mentioned that ice cream really helps in these types of situations, and boy was she right.  I really enjoyed my ice cream. 

Mom made sure I didn’t eat it too fast so I didn’t get an ice cream headache.  I’m not sure what that is, but mom said it can be painful even though it doesn’t last long.  There were a couple people around while I was eating my ice cream and they mentioned, jokingly, to mom how spoiled I seemed to be.  Mom let them know this was my reward for being a good boy at the doctor’s office.

So today was a good day.  Now I’m looking forward to a grooming on Thursday. 

4 thoughts on “Cardiologist Visit – Ultrasound”

  1. Oh, such good news Bear!! I was so happy to see that you got ice cream and that your Mom posted a picture of it. You may recall we have four dogs, so it’s an extra special treat when they get to go to Dairy Queen!
    Bear, I am so happy for and proud of you and know you will continue to grow strong and do well.
    If I recall, you have a grooming appointment coming up, so not only are you doing well physically, but you had ice cream and now you’ll get groomed. It’s a pretty great week so far!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks Sarah – and thanks so much for the ice cream suggestion a few comments back. My mom was sure to locate someplace we could stop and enjoy an ice cream treat. I hope your babies get their ice cream treats soon as well. I have had a pretty good week. Hope to have many more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

